Na-na-na-not-enough

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about some things in my life and this song by Kelly Clarkson describes it all.

You Love Me – Kelly Clarkson 

Thick skin, soft touch,
Heart of gold but it’s na-na-na-not enough,
Forgiving arms, the higher road,
Working hard but it’s na-na-na-not enough,
You say, I’m not good enough, I’m not good enough
But what you really mean is, you’re not good enough, you’re not good enough
You can’t deliver so you turn it around

You didn’t let me down, you didn’t tear me apart
You just opened my eyes, while breaking my heart
You didn’t do it for me
I’m not as dumb as you think,
You just made me cry
While claiming that you love me
You love me, you love me
You said you loved me but that I
I’m not good enough, I’m not good enough

Stronghold, but fun ride,
But rollercoasters aren’t just na-na-na-not enough,
I keep it in, you wear me out,
This kind of love is na-na-na-not enough,
Said I’m just a sinking ship, I’m just a sinking ship,
But what that really means,
Is you can’t handle this, you can’t handle this,
You couldn’t win so you turn it around…

You didn’t let me down, you didn’t tear me apart
You just opened my eyes, while breaking my heart
You didn’t do it for me
I’m not as dumb as you think,
You just made me cry
While claiming that you love me
You love me, you love me
You said you loved me but that I
I’m not good enough, I’m not good enough

Your love feels different
It’s like a blow to the head with your compliments.
Your love hurts deeper
It’s like a brick in the sea and I’m drowning with it

You didn’t let me down, you didn’t tear me apart
You just opened my eyes, while breaking my heart
You didn’t do it for me
I’m not as dumb as you think,
You just made me cry
While claiming that you love me
You love me, you love me
You said you loved me but that I
I’m not good enough, I’m not good enough
So understand it means nothing when you say you love me
When you say you love me
When you say you love me
You love me, you love me
You didn’t let me down, you didn’t tear me apart
You just opened my eyes, while breaking my heart
You didn’t do it for me
I’m not as dumb as you think,
You just made me cry
While claiming that you love me
You love me, you love me
You said you loved me but that I
I’m not good enough, I’m not good enough

“Watching you walk out of my life does not make me bitter or cynical about love.  But rather makes me realize that if I wanted so much to be with the wrong person how beautiful it will be when the right one comes along.” – Anonymous

One thought on “Na-na-na-not-enough

  1. that song reminds me of the meaning and power of this song:

    MEAN – TAYLOR SWIFT

    “Mean”

    You, with your words like knives
    And swords and weapons that you use against me
    You have knocked me off my feet again
    Got me feeling like I’m nothing
    You, with your voice like nails on a chalkboard
    Calling me out when I’m wounded
    You picking on the weaker man

    You can take me down with just one single blow
    But you don’t know, what you don’t know…

    Someday I’ll be living in a big ol’ city
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
    Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
    Why you gotta be so mean?

    You, with your switching sides
    And your wildfire lies and your humiliation
    You have pointed out my flaws again
    As if I don’t already see them
    I walk with my head down
    Trying to block you out ’cause I’ll never impress you
    I just wanna feel okay again

    I bet you got pushed around
    Somebody made you cold
    But the cycle ends right now
    ‘Cause you can’t lead me down that road
    And you don’t know, what you don’t know…

    Someday I’ll be living in a big ol’ city
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
    Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
    Why you gotta be so mean?

    And I can see you years from now in a bar
    Talking over a football game
    With that same big loud opinion
    But nobody’s listening
    Washed up and ranting about the same old bitter things
    Drunk and grumbling on about how I can’t sing
    But all you are is mean

    All you are is mean
    And a liar, and pathetic, and alone in life
    And mean, and mean, and mean, and mean

    But someday I’ll be living in a big ol’ city
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean, yeah
    Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
    Why you gotta be so?..

    Someday I’ll be living in a big ol’ city (Why you gotta be so?..)
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean (Why you gotta be so?..)
    Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me (Why you gotta be so?..)
    And all you’re ever gonna be is mean
    Why you gotta be so mean?

Leave a Reply

