Spark

Last Friday, we had our first supervisor check-in. To make things more interesting, my supervisor had gone to Target and bought a bunch of Vitamin Water bottles. When she pulled them out, I was like, “What the heck?”. Then she went on to explain that the primary reason she had gotten the Vitamin Waters was because of the sayings on the labels. In addition to listing the flavor, Vitamin Waters also have an additional word on the label. The flavors/sayings she got were: energy, attention, spark, revive, and XXX.

She put them all on the table and told each of us to grab one that we were particularly drawn towards or were feeling like at the moment. My hand floated in between all of the flavors but I couldn’t really decide which one I wanted to take. One by one my teammates slowly started claiming their Vitamin Waters. I finally settled on “Spark”, blueberry-grape.

I was initially drawn to “Spark” because of the colors; a light pink color for the liquid with a bright electric blue label. Then as we started to share, I thought more about “Spark” and thought how it seemed to suit me quite well because spark was what I had been lacking for the last few weeks, yet, on the flip side, I could feel the spark slowly being ignited in me again. With the end of my term of service, a week off, and then orientation for another year, I just felt myself winding down and had slowly been picking myself back up again. Although I’d been at work for technically three weeks, I still felt really out of it.

While I was still really out of it, work wouldn’t wait. My role this year as the Workshop/Volunteer member picked up a lot faster than last year’s and already I had found myself starting to be overwhelmed by my first project, Make a Difference Day. Planning for Make a Difference Day slowly re-ignited my spark for creativity, enthusiasm, determination. That week of our check-in, I could feel myself getting back into the zone, putting my armor on, and getting ready to tackle whatever came my way. I was excited for the role I was going to play this year and for the team that I am a part of. Everything just seemed like a much better fit for me this year compared to last year.

So, I guess there was some larger reason for why I decided to settle on “Spark”. I just didn’t know it at the time.

“At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us. ” – Albert Schweitzer

Leave a Reply

