Calmness

Whew, the past couple of weeks have been busy with planning for Make a Difference Day! My first big event for over 1,000 students went relatively smoothly but it was a lot more high stress than I had imagined. It’s a lot different watching an event being planned than planning one yourself. I had the advantage of second-handedly experiencing the planning for last year’s Make a Difference Day which helped a lot in the initial stages of my planning. Before I knew it though, it was the week of MaDD and there was so many details and loose ends that were waiting to be finalized. I’m proud of myself for keeping calm and getting through my planning and event. There were a few times the week of MaDD where I wanted to just withdraw and run away from everything but I hung in there and told myself to breathe and step back. We set our own expectations for ourselves and thus, most of the time, are our harshest judges. I just needed to let go and be okay with things how they were. Some things we can control and others we can’t. We shouldn’t be upset at ourselves for what we can’t control but just accept and know we did our best and pushed ourselves to our limits. I’m a perfectionist and oftentimes can be very hard on myself for everything. My roles in event planning last year and this year has taught me to learn to not be so structured, to learn how to improvise, and to accept that things will never go according to plan. All of this has been very helpful for me though because it’s helped me to be more relaxed and comfortable with myself.

“Worry is total waste of time. It doesn’t change anything. All it does is steal your joy and keep you busy doing nothing.” – Anonymous

One thought on “Calmness

Leave a Reply

