Persist!

I was having a conversation with a friend earlier via email about submitting an application to a fellowship for next year. I asked him to be a reference and told him that originally I didn’t know if I wanted to apply but then decided I should apply. I didn’t want to ask him for a recommendation letter and end up not submitting my application. I told him I decided to go ahead and ask him for a recommendation because that would put more pressure on me to actually complete my application.

He asked me why I hesitated about applying. I told him it was mainly because I didn’t have confidence that I would be a good candidate. I had all of the recommended traits: track record of working towards social justice, ability to work well with diverse groups, strong personal initiative and motivation, leadership experience or potential, and meaning involvement in school, the workplace or community, and open to new ideas, but I hesitated because I second guessed myself and didn’t think I would be a strong enough candidate because I did not follow policy that closely nor am I up to date on current events in that area.

After that conversation I realized I had already fallen through on one of my resolutions for 2013 – have more confidence in myself (and it’s the first on my list!).  It’s not even two weeks into the new year yet! I am copying my resolutions here again as a reminder to myself. 🙂

2013 Resolutions:

  • Have more confidence in myself!
  • Find a stable, well-paying job
  • Keep in better contact with friends
  • Be more outspoken
  • Be more articulate
  • Work out more

“I made up my mind not to care so much about the destination, and simply enjoy the journey.” – David Archuleta

Leave a Reply

