Things You Forget When You’re Single

It’s been about a year and a half now… I don’t remember how long anymore… since I’ve been single and on my own again. During that time I haven’t been looking for someone to date. I’ve just taken the time to enjoy and rediscover myself and explore new interests. I’m getting back out into the dating world and want to date again but it all seems foreign. Came across this post today and thought it describes my current feelings so decided to re-post.

Thought Catalog

I’ve been single for a long time now. Too long. I feel my private parts getting swallowed up, making me look like Barbie but with cellulite and a size-12 waist. I’m starting to forget what it ever felt like to be in a relationship, what it felt like to always have someone to call and make plans with. This feeling that someone needed you more than they needed anyone else. You were their person. You were the person they left parties early for, just so they could take a drunk cab ride to your apartment at 3 a.m. and have you be the last person they saw before they fell asleep. When you’re single, there’s no guaranteed silver lining to your drunk, no person whose text messages can make you instantly feel safe and like you always have somewhere to go.

I’ve had this before. I’ve been someone’s + 1…

View original post 518 more words

Leave a Reply

