My 2013 In Review

As I look back on the year 2013, I realize it has not just been “another year” for me, instead 2013 has been a year filled with accomplishments and new beginnings. 2013 was a year of all-time highs – each and every day felt great and I enjoyed every moment of every day. 2013 seemed easy – everything fell into place and things happened at all the right times. 2013 brought many wonderful people into my life, people who would impact my life in numerous ways. 2013 also was a year of tremendous growth and discovery for me. I was blessed to have been presented with so many opportunities to shine, to grow, to meet amazing people, which allowed me to fully embrace what came out of each moment.

A few highlights from 2013:

  • I took a leap of faith and put myself out into the dating world again. I was reminded of the cruelties of love and dating, the importance of standing up for myself in a relationship and listening to my gut, and the joys of finding the other half you’ve been searching for and the thrill of getting to know someone.
  • I met an amazing, generous, honest, wonderful young man who is now my significant other and had many adventures and new first experiences with him. I found a harmony and happiness that I had never experienced before in my previous relationship.
  • I finished my second term of service as an AmeriCorps member with an amazing non-profit that has a very personal and close place in my heart and more than doubled my results and I hope to continue to make an impact on the lives of others.
  • I was nominated by my peers for AmeriCorps Member of the Year and received a proclamation from the Mayor for my dedication to service and for my work in the community. It was a surreal experience. The work I do and I did was not for any reward or gain but it was good to know that others appreciated the time and effort I put into each and every task.
  • I (along with my significant other) went on a scavenger hunt race through the heart of downtown and although we were completely lost, had no idea what the answer to most of the clues where, and was no where close to being among the top teams, I still had lots of fun.
  • I completed an obstacle 5K race. It wasn’t as hard-core as I had thought but was still quite fun and thrilling.
  • I started a new job at a higher-education institution. While this job is an entry-level one it is a job that I hope will open many doors and bring in many new connections ahead. I feel very fortunate to be employed in such an innovative and thought-provoking environment and to work alongside like-minded individuals every day.
  • Last but great way to end my year, I was selected by the Commissioner to be on the Department of Human Service’s council on advancing health equity and reducing disparities and inequities among multicultural communities within the state. While our few meetings so far have not been as productive and a little dry, I am honored to have been selected to be a part of this council and look forward the change that we will bring. Even if nothing significant comes out of this council, it is still a great way to get the wheels rolling in the state about this issue and a great opportunity for me to be a more involved and impactful citizen.

“Begin at once to live and count each separate day as a separate life.” ~Seneca

One thought on “My 2013 In Review

Leave a Reply

